Back to Support

    Quick Start Guide

    XSTREAM.CAD for Rhino

    Install the Rhino plug-in, activate your subscription and start working with massive Point Cloud datasets natively in Rhino.

    This guide will help you get XSTREAM.CAD for Rhino installed and running correctly. Please read through before you start.

    Once installed, our online user guide will help you get started with the plug-in.

    You must have an active XSTREAM3D subscription to use our software. If you haven't already subscribed, visit downloads here.

    Installation — standard computer setup

    1. 1
      Download XSTREAM.CAD for Rhino from the downloads section.
    2. 2
      Once your software has downloaded, if installation doesn't start automatically click the .exe file and follow the on-screen prompts.
    3. 3
      You do not need to tick the "reset license" checkbox.
    4. 4
      If you've previously installed Point Clouds for Rhino you may see a notification telling you the .NET framework is already installed — follow the prompts to continue.
    5. 5
      Once installation has completed, launch Rhino and select Tools → Options → Plugins.
    6. 6
      Press Install, then locate Veesus.rhp. This will be in C:\Program Files\XSTREAM.CAD for RhinoX (where 'X' refers to the version of Rhino you are using) or your chosen installation location.
    7. 7
      In the Rhino Command Prompt type: XSTREAM.
    8. 8
      When prompted, enter your XSTREAM3D subscription details.
    9. 9
      Select Tools → Options → View → OpenGL and check that GPU Tessellation is enabled.
    10. 10
      The plug-in is ready to use. You'll need our XSTREAM.Creator to work with your Point Clouds inside Rhino.

    Nvidia Quadro graphics cards

    1. 1
      Follow the standard installation instructions above.
    2. 2
      Open the Nvidia Control Centre in Windows.
    3. 3
      Select Manage 3D Settings.
    4. 4
      Select Workstation App – Dynamic Streaming.
    5. 5
      Click Apply.

    Updating the plug-in (post-version 2.6.0)

    1. 1
      Follow steps 1–4 from the standard installation instructions above.
    2. 2
      In Rhino, remove XSTREAM.Desktop from the list of plug-ins. This removes the old plug-in so you can install the new one.
    3. 3
      Follow steps 5–8 of the standard installation instructions to complete the update.

    A note on VPC files

    All XSTREAM3D desktop applications require Point Clouds to be converted into our proprietary VPC format (.vpc) before they can be used. XSTREAM.Creator is available to download from the XSTREAM3D website.